I have started reading this series since I was in my senior year in college, year 2010. After I finished with Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight saga, I have moved on and searched for a new addiction. I knew I wasn’t ready to go out of the young adult paranormal genre, and so I have stayed in that classification and browsed for different titles with interesting plots. Eventually, I came upon a story that is not about vampires, werewolves, and faeries, which were all occupying the “new released” shelves in the bookstore. An angel love story.

Okay. My country is a “Catholic and conservative” nation who believes that she must protect the souls of her people. Just thinking of the uproar from the clergy when Dan Brown’s Da Vinci Code was released made me smirk. Tsk tsk. I want to discuss more about this behavior the Church has been exhibiting lately, though I assume it would be a lengthy write-up and not much connected with my current entry here.

So, yes, an angel story. I’m such a sucker for star-crossed lovers, and add up the fact that one of the main characters is an angel made me get interested and hooked easily. The saga consists of four books, and I have finished reading the fourth and last installment a day ago. I’d admit – I didn’t have the strength to put down my phone once I have opened the book in my ebook reader. I was, in lack of a better word, captivated by the plot. Lauren Kate did it big this time. I was a bit surprised with the twist as I haven’t guessed correctly what it would be. Kate’s sudden turn of the story in Rapture was so unexpected yet seemingly fitting if one would recount those subtle hints and lines mentioned in the previous books. I applaud Kate for creating the fourth novel in such a way that would certainly leave a mark to those who are fans of the story. I daresay one will definitely find satisfaction and “completion” after reading the last book. Unlike other installments’ final book, one can find himself smiling after reading Rapture. It’s not like a cliffhanger or an open-ended plot, though it still leaves something for the imagination.

I won’t say much about the story as some readers might not want a spoiler. I’ll just post here the series along with the books’ blurbs and/or back cover copies. I hope you guys will find time to read the saga and find yourself fallen in love after reading each book, especially Rapture. And who knows? Perhaps like the Roman poet Virgil, you may also believe in omnia vincit amor, or love conquers all. And that whatever battles you may face and choices you may make, God will always be there – forgiving as always.

Enjoy reading!

Fallen (Book 1)

Some Angels are Destined to Fall

There’s something achingly familiar about Daniel Grigori.

Mysterious and aloof, he captures Luce Price’s attention from the moment she sees him on her first day at the Sword & Cross boarding school in sultry Savannah, Georgia. He’s the one bright spot in a place where cell phones are forbidden, the other students are all screw-ups, and security cameras watch every move.

Even though Daniel wants nothing to do with Luce–and goes out of his way to make that very clear–she can’t let it go. Drawn to him like a moth to a flame, she has to find out what Daniel is so desperate to keep secret . . . even if it kills her.

Dangerously exciting and darkly romantic, Fallen is a page turning thriller and the ultimate love story.

“Sexy and fascinating and scary…I loved love loved it!” -P.C. Cast, New York Times bestselling author of the House of Night Series.

Torment (Book 2)

Love never dies.

Lucinda is sure that she and Daniel are meant to be together forever. Now they are forced apart in a desperate bid to save Luce from the Outcasts–immortals who want her dead. As she discovers more about her past lives, Luce starts to suspect that Daniel is hiding something. What if he has lied to her about their shared past? What if Luce is really meant to be with someone else?

Passion (Book 3)

Luce would die for Daniel.

And she has. Over and over again. Throughout time, Luce and Daniel have found each other, only to be painfully torn apart: Luce dead, Daniel left broken and alone. But perhaps it doesn’t need to be that way…

Luce is certain that something—or someone—in a past life can help her in her present one. So she begins the most important journey of this lifetime… going back eternities to witness firsthand her romances with Daniel . . . and finally unlock the key to making their love last.

Cam and the legions of angels and Outcasts are desperate to catch Luce, but none are as frantic as Daniel. He chases Luce through their shared pasts, terrified of what might happen if she rewrites history.

Because their romance for the ages could go up in flames… forever.

Rapture (Book 4)

The sky is dark with wings . . . .

Like sand in an hourglass, time is running out for Luce and Daniel. To stop Lucifer from erasing the past they must find the place where the angels fell to earth. Dark forces are after them, and Daniel doesn’t know if he can do this—live only to lose Luce again and again.

Yet together they will face an epic battle that will end with lifeless bodies . . . and angel dust. Great sacrifices are made. Hearts are destroyed. And suddenly Luce knows what must happen.

For she was meant to be with someone other than Daniel. The curse they’ve borne has always and only been about her—and the love she cast aside. The choice she makes now will be the only one that truly matters.

In the fight for Luce, who will win?

The astonishing conclusion to the FALLEN series. Heaven can’t wait any longer.

Fallen in Love (Book 3.5) Bonus book

Luce and Daniel’s relationship is emblematic for eternal love–but their story is not the only kind of love. This is a book inspired by you, my readers, who have shared your love stories with me from the beginning and shown me how many different shapes love takes. Set far back through the Announcers–somewhere between Passion and Rapture–Fallen in Love is a grand tour of romance that reaches through time and through hearts. Get a little bit closer to knowing the eternity of Luce and Daniel–and swoon as Miles, Shelby, Roland, and Arriane navigate their hearts’ destinies.

See what happens between the lines of the Fallen Series, and fall in love, again, forever.

Blurbs, back cover copies, and more of the series can be found at http://laurenkatebooks.net

5 thoughts on “Fallen

  1. I am definately going to have to check out this series. I too am a sucker for star-crossed lovers (my favorite play is Romeo and Juliet). The descriptions make the stories sound addicting!

    1. Oh, I like Romeo and Juliet though their’s is a tragedy. Unlike this series, these star-crossed lovers will find their way back to each other! *spoiler* If you want to have an electronic copy of the books, I can send you. ^^

Share your thoughts, I would love to read them!